But it’s only money

While I’m proud of the lovely hashioki I’ve collected that cost less than a dollar, people always ask me what is the most expensive piece in my collection.

IMG_2319This sterling silver boat represents the other end of the spectrum. In December 2000 it cost 200 Hong Kong dollars, or approximately $US 29. It is the signature piece of The Peninsula in Tsimshatsui in Hong Kong, a 5 star hotel located more or less across the street from the Hong Kong Museum of Art, where I purchased my first hashioki.

From time to time I see more expensive hashioki for sale on the Internet, usually with some designer’s name attached, and there are undoubtedly many fine craftsman-created hashioki from Japan with higher price tags.

But this is it for me…. at least, so far.

Leave a Reply

