News flash: hashioki exhibit

Until yesterday I thought the only museum-quality exhibit of hashioki in the world was the one in two glass-fronted cabinets in my dining room.

But a wonerful Etsy.com vendor (KismetKollective) named Brenda from Chigasaki, Japan sent me a link yesterday to an impressive exhibit which includes some fine art hashioki at the Ronin Gallery in New York. Here is the link: http://www.roningallery.com/exhibitions/contemporary-talents-of-japan.

The hashioki were created by a Japanese artist named Tomomi Kamoshita from pieces of pottery that washed up on the beaches of Tohoku after the 2011 Tsunami. Kamoshita Kamoshita_Pattern_7pieces these shards together with a technique know as kintsugi where gold is the mortar that holds the pieces together. I especially like this piece because it reminds me of the traditional omikuji, or paper fortune, shapes (please refer to my post A different kind of tie from January 2016).

Alas, this exhibit runs through July 30, and I don’t know how long the link will work. And alas, I will not be adding one of these lovely pieces to my collection because they retail for $225. each.

But I salute Tomomi Kamoshita and the Ronin Gallery for demonstrating once again that hashioki are more than simple decorative pieces, and that they in fact can have the power to evoke powerful emotions and connections.

Leave a Reply

