The last one

This fall, when I was reading a book completely unrelated to hashioki or chopstick rests (1), I came across a Japanese proverb which states:

“Sit —even on a stone – for three years.”

The author of that book interpreted this proverb to mean that if do something devotedly for three years that you’ll experience a positive outcome.  My interpretation is a little different.  I would say that the proverb suggests that after you do something thoroughly for three years it may be time to move along.

I’ve been writing this blog for three years.

My takeaway has been both positive and not-so-positive.  On the plus side, I have shared by fascination with hashioki in more than 150 posts, and I believe I have proved my original thesis that these small objects are a very significant bridge to Japanese culture.  On the other hand, I’ve a had a loyal but very small audience, and failed in my secret hope to transmit my hashioki obsession to hundreds or thousands or even millions of others.

So this is my last post. And in it I’m featuring my last hashioki purchase, which is a chopstick rest in the shape of a takamakura 高枕, or high pillow, which was used by Japanese geisha to preserve their elaborate hairstyle while they slept.  The user would place the takamakura beneath their neck when sleeping on her back or side so her head wouldn’t touch the futon.  This particularly takamakura features a pillow top, probably stuffed with buckwheat hulls, and held in place by the gold cord you see in the middle.

As I have written previously, when I saw this hashioki for sale on Etsy.com I knew it would be my last purchase, and the subject of my last post, because it seemed so appropriate. I like it because it alludes to Japanese culture in a subtle way – unlike a fan or a maneki neko, you need to have a little knowledge to spot the connection.  As I explained in an early post (“Shapes,” May 2016), one of the common shapes for hashioki is an ingot or brick-with-a-curved-top shape very similar to the shape of a takamakura.  And finally, I like it because it’s beautiful – as all the best hashioki are!

If you’re reading this, thank you for allowing me to share my fondness for hashioki with you.

Mimi

 

(1)Greenwood, Gesshin Claire.  Bow First, Ask Questions Later.  Somerville, MA:  Wisdom Publications, 2018, p. 185.  The book is a very provocative memoir by a young American-woman about her experience become a Zen Buddhist nun and teacher in Japan.

 

© Mimi Dollinger and http://www.hashioki.wordpress.com, 2015-2018. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mimi Dollinger and wwww.hashioki.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a comment